2012 TV Week Logie Awards: The Gold, The Silver, and The Predictions

by on April 15, 2012 · 0 comments

The 2012 Logie Awards Logo

The 54th annual TV Week Logie Awards are set to take place in a few hours. While those of us in the northern hemisphere sleep away our early Sunday morning (and late Saturday night), Australian television’s brightest personalities will gather at Melbourne’s Crown Casino to accept their awards.

Up for the coveted Gold Logie (most popular personality) this year are Carrie Bickmore (last year’s Gold Logie winner and host of The Project on Network Ten), Karl Stefanovic (Today, Nine), Esther Anderson (Home and Away, Seven), Asher Keddie (Offspring, Ten and Paper Giants: The Birth of Cleo, ABC1), Hamish Blake (Hamish and Andy’s Gap Year, Nine) and Adam Hills (Spicks and Specks, In Gordon St Tonight, ABC1).

The Silver Logie (most popular actor) nominees are Daniel MacPherson (Jack Keenan, Wild Boys, Seven), Eddie Perfect (Mick Holland, Offspring, Ten), Erik Thomson (Dave Rafter, Packed To The Rafters, Seven), Hugh Sheridan (Ben Rafter, Packed To The Rafters, Seven), Ray Meagher (Alf Stewart, Home And Away, Seven). The Silver Logie (most popular actress) nominees are Asher Keddie (Nina Proudman, Offspring, Network Ten /Ita Buttrose, Paper Giants: The Birth Of Cleo, ABC1), Danielle Cormack (Kate Leigh, Underbelly: Razor, Nine Network /Angela Travis, East West 101, SBS), Esther Anderson (Charlie Buckton, Home And Away, Channel Seven), Jessica Marais (Rachel Rafter, Packed To The Rafters, Channel Seven), Rebecca Gibney (Julie Rafter, Packed To The Rafters, Channel Seven).

Australian social media agency Online Circle has used its powerful online social media monitoring tool, Online 1984, to predict the winners of the major categories based on their online popularity. According to them, Esther Anderson is the clear favourite to win the Gold Logie, while Hugh Sheridan and Esther Anderson look like the favourites to win the Silver.

The awards show has been presented annually in Australia since 1959, and were renamed ‘The Logies’ (from the TV Week Awards) by Graham Kennedy in 1960 after John Logie Baird, the Scottish inventor of the television. While in most recent years, the awards have traditionally been hosted by Bert Newton, this year marks a departure from a single host in favour of various personalities. The opening act will be American rapper, Flo Rida, and Molly Meldrum will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The entire list of nominees in this year’s ceremony can be found on TV Week’s Logies blog.